top of page
Untitled design-233.png
Square Size (Preferable 10801080)-2.png

James Van Pelt

James Van Pelt taught high school English in western Colorado until he transitioned to full-time writing in 2018. He has been publishing fiction since 1990, with numerous appearances in most of the major science fiction and fantasy magazines, including , Talebones, Realms of Fantasy, Analog, Asimov's, Weird Tales, SCIFI.COM, and many anthologies, including several "year's best" collections. His first collection of stories, Strangers and Beggars was released in 2002, and was recognized as a Best Book for Young Adults by the American Library Association. His second collection, The Last of the O-Forms and Other Stories, which includes the Nebula finalist title story, was released in August 2005 and was a finalist for the Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Book Award. His novel, Summer of the Apocalypse was released November, 2006. The Radio Magician and Other Stories appeared in September of 2009 and received the Colorado Book Award in 2010. His newest collection, Flying in the Heart of the Lafayette Escadrille, appeared in November, 2012. Pandora's Gun, Van Pelt's first young adult novel, came out in 2015. Fairwood Press announced they will published his fifth collection of short stories, The Experience Arcade and Other Stories, in November of 2017. A limited edition, signed and numbered hardbound collection, The Best of James Van Pelt, is available starting in November of 2020 exclusively at the Fairwood Press website. Two-hundred copies only.

Works by This Author

bottom of page